Why do I knit

Do you know those moments of excited ‘ah-ing’ and ‘oh-ing’ when you walk into a yarn shop, or any other place that sells at least a few skeins of yarn? I think it’s a very common thing among knitters, crocheters and others who use yarn in any way. The same is true for me.

My excitement has to do with me being a highly tactile person, and touching the skeins, hanks, cakes etc., all its different textures and weights, feeling the way it sits in my hand, and not to mention the finished product makes me comfortable. In a way it feels like home. It feels natural and pure. Am I making any sense here?

Then it’s the way it helps me stay grounded. I tend to be so worried about the future and the past that all sorts of emotions overflow me, and my mood is shifting from happy to sad. But when I pick up my needles, it calms me down and makes me focused on the project, often with music or a favourite tv show playing in the background. I can’t even begin to describe the ways in which it had helped me to stay focused in other areas in my life, as well as the mentally healthy benefits; when I’m angry, sad or nervous I start knitting. A couple of hours later I’m much better, and the anger is gone.

I also knit when I’m happy, don’t get me wrong. 🙂

So now it’s my turn to ask you: why do you love the yarn?

Leave a Reply

