Yarn stash on Ravelry or oh I’m so jealous of yours!

There are many threads on Ravelry (bless the creators of that site!) which cause me to drool and my eyes pop out of their sockets. Particularly dangerous for me, envy vise, are threads devoted to sharing yarn stashes. Mmmmmyyyy oh my, the beauty of skeins, hanks and cakes all in the same place. It makes me want to have my own room dedicated specifically to my stash.

However, let’s be honest, I neither have the space nor money to stash all the yarn I want to buy. My stash is measly comparing to all the photos I’ve seen on Ravelry, but it’s a start. Also, I wouldn’t have much space to store it in if it was any bigger.

DSC_0920

Yarn stash
Yarn stash

Ok let’s start from the top left: two skeins of Lana Grossa Meilenweit sock yarn. The yarn is more khaki than in the photos and I’m still deliberating on what to do with it. On the right of it is a gorgeous yellow with a bit of spark in it, roughly about the same thickness and sturdiness. Everything other than the three skeins below (shiny orange, navy blue and white, which are all 100% mercerized cotton) have no labels because I took them from my grandma’s stash and she has much more than it came from. Also, those three rows below the first are all thicker yarn than the ones on top. My bet is that they’re all acrylic.

DSC_0921

These are leftovers, not big enough for a full project. the variegated yarn on top of a blue one is also Lana Grossa Meilenweit sock yarn and the purple ball beneath it is 100% cotton. the rest is acrylic.

DSC_0925 DSC_0928 DSC_0929

I saved the best for last, of course! Ice Yarns. ❤ Ok, the first photo on the left is 100% Virgin Wool Deluxe, you all saw the sweater I’ve made out of it. I have a batch of deep red coming soon 🙂 The photo on the right are the balls of Artic Merino, which is 48% merino but 25% polyamide and 27% acrylic. It’s very thin but very soft and sparkly. The yardage is crazy, 300 meters in 50 grams, and it comes in packs of 6 balls. It does pill, so I’m still not sure what to make of it. It works best on tiny needles such as 2.5 mm, not 3 mm as suggested by the seller.

Naturally I keep those separated from acrylic, but I really need to find a better option for storing the yarn, acrylic or not. What does your stash look like?

Leave a Reply

