I need my drug…

or how to stay normal while not knitting.

Recently, about a month ago, I stopped drinking coffee. I went from 2-3 cups of big latte (since age 15 to 29) a day, to 0. I thought I was going to be fine, since, you know, it’s just coffee. Right? On day one I was actually doing ok, and since I didn’t have the withdrawal crisis, I thought it would continue. I thought it would be the easiest thing in the world.

Yeeeah….riiiight. That night I went to bed with a terrible headache. It was 9 pm and I couldn’t keep my eyes open, so I figured that tomorrow I’ll be refreshed. Except, of course, that I wasn’t even near to being refreshed. My whole spine, legs and back hurt so much when I woke up. I was incredibly tired, I couldn’t hold my head up straight. But that wasn’t even the worst part. This was: I was in charge of cleaning the house and cooking lunch while my mom is at work, since I’m currently unemployed. There were floors to be vacuumed and mopped, lunch to be finished etc… I pushed myself to do it, but it took me twice as long.

Yes, I was experiencing a vengeful withdrawal of caffeine from my system. I felt like I was purging myself from cocaine (although, with all due respect to people who are trying to get off heavy drugs or cigarettes, I know mine can be hardly considered as a drug. Hats off to those people who endure recovering from a real addiction).

So why am I writing about coffee addiction and lack thereof on a craft blog? Because I recently finished the hat I was knitting for my grandma’s life-long friend, the same one with a braid I did for myself (the pink hat in gallery). And it’s been a very difficult project this time, since I wasn’t sure whether it would fit the receiver who lives in another country. When I cast off, I felt emotionally drained so I gave myself some time off.

And then today, as I was buying the yarn with grandma, because she wants another hat, the nervous ticks came back. I’m not used to not knitting when there’s yarn in front of me. I felt really, really nervous. I was touching the yarn, playing with it on my fingers but I couldn’t cast on. It was driving me crazy.

Hello everyone, my name is Creatingmagic and I’m addicted to yarn. This time, however, I’m sure it’s the one drug I never want to get off of.

Leave a Reply

