Sew me something…

on

…or how I re-discovered my sewing machine.

I know this is probably the most used excuse ever, but I’ve been really busy with life things. Such as organizing a few crocheting workshops in my local HUB and looking for a (real) job…still looking. That was fun, and a big learning curve.

I also didn’t knit much, or even order new yarn because I am a bit (quite) tight on money and it’s getting reeeeeally hot! I was working on this blanket, but I didn’t get too far, because I realized I wouldn’t have enough yarn, so I figured I might as well do something else. I would love to make a giant waffle stitch blanket. One day.

DSC06045
Waffle stitch blanket

On the other hand, I finally started using my sewing machine! It’s a gorgeous Husqvarna Huskystar 207 model, given to me by my beloved grandparents many moons ago for my birthday, when I was just 18. I’ll be 31 in a few months. You do the math.

So, the reason why I didn’t use this machine too often, or almost at all, is because the instructions are sort of stupidly written, so I couldn’t quite figure out how to connect the needle thread and the spool thread, without turning the machine over on its back and painstakingly slowly doing that by hand.

Having downloaded the English manual, I had experienced a full-on moment of a face palm, when I realized that ALL I HAD TO DO was to lower the needle and press the pedal a few times. Once that was settled, there was the question of wavering stitches. I’m telling you guys, I was in no way proud of my stitches! Rather, I was horrified.

And so, the machine was in the closet for quite some time, until a few weeks ago, when my new rotary cutter blades came in the mail. I had a bunch of old clothes that I didn’t have the energy to rip out by hand, because the stitches were very tiny. And since it all went so fast with the rotary cutter, I started getting ideas that go beyond fixing an old pillowcase. Not that I don’t enjoy doing that. In fact, I did make a new pillowcase for a long pillow that I have in my room. All the photos of these projects will be in the sewing gallery.

Very soon, I started thinking about everything that I can sew. One of the things I’m most proud of is a lavender pouch. My grandma gave me the leftover fabric that she had used for her garden seat pillow. The label said decorative fabric, and it reminds me of burlap very much, but it’s softer than burlap. Ever since that moment, the gates are open and I’m falling in love with sewing more and more! It’s going so natural for me, and one of these days I will write about one of my biggest regrets in life, and my desire to make it come true in a roundabout way 🙂

Ok, that’s all for me today, I’ll see you very soon! Meanwhile, I would like to hear from you what’s your favorite sewing project so far?

 

Leave a Reply

