Am I too late?

….or, why I’m angry at my country’s educational system.

First of all, I realize that every country isn’t ideal in a different way, and that no matter where you go, some things will not work as planned. I also acknowledge my own doing in the matter, because at the time I didn’t know any better.

Here’s the thing. As a kid, I was very insecure about what I wanted to do in life, and I always kind of went with whatever someone else suggested to me. I’m still working on that, and I’m better at it. So the question of: what do you want to do in your life kept annoying me, because I didn’t know what I wanted to do.

At the end of elementary school, I was supposed to choose my life’s career. Does that sound as scary to you as it does to me? Lifetime? How can anyone be sure if they want to do something for the rest of their lives? However, there was something that sparked my interest. Fashion design.

Please note that at the time I didn’t sew, at all. I knitted and crocheted, but never touched the sewing machine. And yet, I thought that this could be the good idea, because I always loved looking at huge bolts of fabric at the fabric store, and I love the touch and feel of fabric.

Now this is the part that threw me completely into the bushes. In order to even get considered to get into high school, I was supposed to get tested, for them to determine whether or not I’m a good enough candidate.

I applied for a course which was designed to help future fashion designers to prepare for the testing. I didn’t finish it, and I didn’t even bother to apply because I was asked the following:

There was a chair placed on the table, and I was supposed to draw it EXACTLY as it looked like, where all the lines are straight, 3D, with perfect proportions and perfectly shaded. People, I have a confession to make: I can’t draw a straight line and shades even if you paid me. So instead, I went to a different high school because I didn’t know better, and because I didn’t know where I want to go in life.

College was better because with it I am equipped to be an entrepreneur, but I still wonder what would have happened if schools in my country weren’t focused on testing the general knowledge or the ability to draw the straight line. What if, instead, they were focused on practical knowledge: sewing a garment? I could have gotten in, because kinesthetic work is what suits me best.

I also wish I had stood up for myself and really thought of what I want in life. There are the things that make me happy and that I’m good at doing, but sewing is definitely on top of the game. That’s why I’m finding my way back to it, combining my entrepreneurial knowledge and my skills. My first step is creating items for my Etsy shop, like this little lavender pocket pillow.

If you want to help me make more steps towards it, please consider becoming my Patron. It’s not a lifetime commitment. Even once a month or once and for all, of any amount that you choose, will help me a great deal and you will be rewarded.

Thank you.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. How can you be too late? Consider this: through doing what you’ve done, you have become the person you are today. You have gained a lot of knowledge in a wide field, that might end up being exactly what you need to become a success at what you now have decided to do! There are a precious few who know at the end of primary school what they want to do in life and most of them end up doing something else anyway. Good luck!

    Like

  2. Thank you so much! It really means a lot to me! You have made some very good points, and I agree with them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

