Alterations

…or how I saved the money.

I’m not a fan of second hand shops. At least, not when it comes to something I would wear. Accessories are, of course, a different thing. Because, who could ever resist such adorable prints and the feel of the fabric.

The exception is when I get something from a friend, like a huge pair of long pants, or a beach skirt, or a lacy sleeveless shirt. But in that case, I know that she took a good care of the items. (Not that others don’t do that too.)

That’s why I never thought I would take a piece of clothing and turn it into something else. However, I think I kind of fell in love with it. It started with my determination to get the hang of sewing by the pattern. It turned out that I had just enough fabric for shorts. The lacy panels were a necessity since, as a complete beginner, I omitted the fact that shorts are supposed to be stretchy and so they didn’t fit around my hips. I do love the effect very much, though.

It would have probably been a good idea to match the direction of cutting up lace panels for the sides and the waistband, but the mistake is barely visible. Next was an A-line skirt from the pants (they were really huge), and just yesterday I went ahead and altered another piece of clothing, this time my own! I turned this:

DSC_0124_059Into this:

DSC_0125_060

The reason why I didn’t wear that dress is because it really didn’t look good on me, especially the upper part. But once I cut it across the waist, and cut up another piece for the waistband, it looked so perfect. Now it really fits me and hugs my curves in a lovely way. I kept the lining as well, so I can wear it outside without worrying that it will show something that shouldn’t be seen šŸ˜‰

That’s why I love alterations! I can use the main piece for something new, and all other pieces for accessories. I’m having so much fun that it’s almost criminal. Try and stop me šŸ˜‰

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. This is so creative! I would very much love to be like you one day! Can you maybe check out my blog?
    thelawofattractionweeklyy.wordpress.com
    I’m new here and I would like to know the opinion of such a creative person like you! šŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Thank you for your kind words Eleanor!

      Like

Leave a Reply

