Impatient fingers…

…or how I can’t start sewing until I get a proper job!

DSC_0172_096
Silk fabric, huge amount of yardage, folded

It was a promise I gave to myself and my parents, that I will withhold from any type of sewing or knitting until I have my own financial means of providing for fabric and yarn. That’s a huge motivation for me to become employed. Of course, there are so many more reasons why I want to get a job, but having a creative outlet after a busy, productive day is basically my idea of heaven!

However, not having a job does not stop me from collecting fabric, with a generous help from my friends and my Patron (who also happens to be my dear friend <3). My latest acquisitions include this hot pink silk fabric, given to me by a friend who’s moving to Ireland so she’s decluttering. It’s fraying a lot on the edges, it’s washed but there are a few dark spots that can’t come off, so I’ll have to think strategically when using it and eventually over dye it with another color once it’s a finished object.

My plan with it is to make a kimono, that looks something like this.

I was also given a silk sleeveless shirt, by the same friend. The color is stunning, and it’s already ripped into pieces, but I still don’t know what to make with it. I was thinking of shorts, as pajama bottoms.

DSC_0171
Another silk fabric

Then we have another fabric that I’ll use into a skirt

DSC_0151_078

DSC_0150_077

I’ll probably have more than enough yardage to make a small accessory with it after the skirt is done.

And of course, there is a first proper sewing pattern. It’s Simplicity’s New Look 6165 for pajama bottoms and a skirt. It had already arrived and it’s ready to be cut, but it will have to wait, especially now that I’ve joined the gym. I want to trim those hip inches down until I start making my garment.

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Veronak says:

    I understand, I too am unemployed and I absolutely love going into the fabric stores.
    Your fabric is beautiful

    Like

    1. Thank you! There’s something very soothing about touching the fabric.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. LOL! Thank you, but I’m just a beginner.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

