So, I’ve cheated

…or how I stopped feeling guilty for wanting to feel good!

I just can’t not sew. Ok? I can’t. I can put the wool and other yarns to a safe place and wait until winter, but fabric? No way. No. The desire is much too strong, and the possibilities of creating something out of a flat piece of fabric are too abundant to ignore!

So I gave in. I waited until the house was relatively less crowded, pulled out the fabric which my friend had given me, and started cutting it up to make the tote bag to…wait for it… stash more fabric. Yes, fabric seems to reproduce without me being aware of it. My stash simply keeps growing!

This is the fabric in question, already cut up to sew. You’ve seen it in my last post.

Back to the point: denying yourself something that makes you so happy is, in most cases, detrimental to your psyche. It shouldn’t be done; not if you want to stay sane and deal with the daily life stress. You need an outlet. Sewing is a must for me, as well as the gym.

When I’m not being crafty in any way, and particularly when I’m not sewing, I’m having a burning sensation right in the middle of my forehead. It’s very similar to having a fever. Then I know that it’s time to do something about it, to ease that pain.

After only a few minutes of sewing, I feel like a completely different person. I feel more optimistic, more calm, more happy with my life. The pain and the feverish feeling in my forehead is gone. Poof. Vanished.

It keeps me going, and that’s why I’ll never let go of it. What is the one thing that makes YOU happy, that you can’t let go of?

Leave a Reply

