Pincushions!

…or how I found use for my ever-growing scrap yarn stash!

Honestly, scrap yarn never seems to go away! And since two days ago I came a cross a tutorial on making pattern weights, which is a clever way of avoiding fabric holes made by pins, I knew I had to make them!

Now, I didn’t have rice or other uncooked food at hand, and to be honest, even if I did, I wouldn’t use it. That just feels wrong. There will be something else that I can put inside, which will still serve its purpose of holding the pattern paper down on the fabric.

Knowing that I still wanted to make them, I had decided that it was the perfect opportunity to change my pincushion. The one I had was good, but since it was stuffed with fabric scraps, I couldn’t push the pin in normally. I always struggled and the pins wouldn’t come out or in easily. Having learned my lesson, it was time to stuff it with scrap yarn. That works like a charm!

The pins are now so easy to put in and take out! It’s a dream!

dsc_0031

By the end of the day, these babies will be put onto my store. The blue one will be sold individually, and the three small ones will be sold as a bunch. I’ll make more of them in the near future, so feel free to stop by and see what’s new in there!

Which one of these is your favorite?

Leave a Reply

