You have to love yourself…

or how I’ve decided to treat myself this Valentine’s day with a fitted bralette. And no, I’m not talking about buying myself one, even though H&M has a Valentine’s day discount on lingerie, but an actual bralette that I can sew myself.

I’ve been on the lookout for the perfect pattern since forever, and I finally came across two video tutorials which explain the construction in the understandable way. I made the pattern following the direction, and for both the inner and outer side of the cup I used the same measurements. That way I can be sure that I have complete coverage where I need it đŸ˜€

So, the cups are done now, the straps and the band are next. I’m still not sure whether or not I want to use the elastic for the band, because while I do want the support, I also want to feel comfortable sleeping in it, if I so desire.

The whole point of my journey of sewing lingerie is to feel good in my body, even though it’s not perfect. Honestly, I’m sick and tired of believing that just because I have 10 kilos more on my body than I should, that I shouldn’t even begin to try and feel sexy, and that I should postpone it until I hit my desired goal of 50 kilos.

It’s just ridiculous. Loving yourself isn’t the easiest thing in the world in and of itself, let alone when you have the society and their standards breathing down your neck, shaming the way you look.

As the War Doctor would say: no more!

My Patrons will see the finished garment two days earlier, so if you’re impatient or just want to support my work (even as a one-off) and help me acquire more fabric and threads and other sewing notions, consider becoming my Patron by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

