Needles, yarn, comfort and sadness

…or how I got back to knitting.

First of all, this weather we have here is crazy! It was about 20 degrees for a while, and now it’s considerably cold again, with heavy rain clouds and in some parts of the country – snow!

So what does sadness have to do with it? A close family member is in hospital with a life-threatening condition, and that’s all I’m going to say about that. I am not allowing myself to cry before time, even though I’m afraid that their time on this Earth is slowly running out. *shudder*

I tried sewing these past few days, but it just wasn’t working for me. I think it’s all the worry and the stress that we’re all experiencing, and I just couldn’t focus on what I was doing. All my FO’s looked horrible. Then, in comes the yarn.

I believe I’ve mentioned before in one of my older posts, how there is something extremely comforting about stitches gliding between the needles, creating something out of just a thread of yarn. So since I really needed that comfort, and because it also brought me closer to that family member, I had finally decided to start another Shleeves pattern from Ravelry, but this time in this gorgeous fingering weight yarn.

18077094_1139964406131986_3034236475679645663_o

And if you’ve been here long enough, you’ll recognize this pattern or, more to the point, the FO I’d made based on the pattern! PS, this gold cotton is still waiting to be knit, because I’m still very slow with the sleeves and is in huge need of blocking. It is still sitting in my to-be-done file, and I promise I’ll get to it.

But for now, I’m enjoying the softness of Ice Yarns Artic Merino. It brings comfort to my soul, whatever the outcome.

Leave a Reply

